Tour of Flanders: Asgreen dominates van der Poel and offers himself a first Monument

Danish champion Kasper Asgreen (Deceuninck) beat Dutchman Mathieu van der Poel to win the Tour of Flanders on Sunday in Oudernarde after 254 kilometers.

The most resistant of all won in the end. Kasper Asgreen (Deceuninck-Quick Step) is considered to be much less powerful than Mathieu van der Poel (Alpecin) in the sprint exercise, but the Dutch champion had nothing left in the engine fifty meters from the finish . It was therefore he who stuck, and not the Norwegian rider of the Deceuninck, winner of his first Tour of Flanders on this Easter Sunday. A few days after his victory in E3, the Danish champion won the first Monument of his career at the age of 26.

Kasper Asgreen also becomes the first Danish rider to win in Oudenaarde since Ralf Sorensen, winner of the Round in 1997. “It’s unbelievable”, commented Kasper Asgreen at the finish line. “I felt good in the last kilometers, I decided to wait for the sprint in the last kilometers, he analyzed hot after his vic tory. I let Mathieu lead in the last kilometer. stuck in his wheel, and I was able to start the sprint when I decided. It was a difficult race, we were at the limit in the final both. “

The French animated the day

The Belgian Greg Van Avermaet took third place, and climbs once again on the podium, he who had finished second in 2014 and 2017, and third in 2015. The French animated the race from start to finish, and the first d ‘between them, Anthony Turgis (8th), who did not spare his efforts to maintain the hope of a return to the level of the strong, ranked eighth, in the same as Florian Sénéchal (Deceunick-Quick Step) and Christophe Laporte (Cofidis), who was also in a chase group, pointed at the finish line just seconds from the winner.

Julian Alaphilippe, victim of a fall, did not have the legs in the final to play a leading role in the outcome of this race, marked by two highlights. In the first of the last four difficulties, the ascent of Taaienberg, the world champion was with the strongest, but not for very long however, since he cracked following the acceleration of his teammate Kasper Asgreen, that only Mathieu van der Poel and Wout van Aert were able to follow. There were then only three contenders for victory, then two, Van Aert giving in on the final ascent of Vieux Quaremont.

The rest, we know it. Kasper Asgreen, who we felt he still had some under the pedal, accelerated to 200 meters from the finish to deprive Van der Poel of a double. “It was a beautiful final. We did our best, responded Alaphilippe to our microphone. And from the moment I was still in front with Kasper, I immediately felt that it was going to be complicated for me. I heard Kasper on the radio, who was doing a demo. I’m too happy for him, he deserves it. He did the right thing. We came to win, he’s really a machine . “


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here