The Belgian Union supports UEFA in its opposition to the creation of the Super League: "We will do everything to prevent it"

“We support UEFA and we oppose the organization of a closed competition as agreed between 12 major European football clubs,” the Belgian Football Union tweeted on Monday. This is his only official reaction to the announcement made late Sunday evening of the creation of a football Super League by twelve big clubs: AC Milan, Arsenal, Atlético Madrid, Chelsea FC, FC Barcelona, ​​Inter Milan. , Juventus, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Real Madrid and Tottenham.

This dissident competition of international football governing bodies (UEFA and FIFA) can have consequences for the players taking part. UEFA, the European federation, which has received the support of Spanish, Italian and English federations and leagues, is threatening.

“We will consider all possible remedies, at all levels, legal as well as sporting, to prevent this. Football is based on open competition and sporting merit; it cannot be otherwise. As previously announced by FIFA and the six confederations, the clubs concerned will be banned from participating in any other competition at national, European or world level, and their players could be denied the opportunity to represent their national team. “

Eight Red Devils are among the twelve “founding” clubs of the Super League, which ultimately expects to have twenty teams in its ranks. They are Eden Hazard and Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid), Romelu Lukaku (Inter Milan), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Alexis Saelemaekers (AC Milan), Toby Alderweireld (Tottenham), Divock Origi (Liverpool) and Yannick Carrasco (Atletico Madrid).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here