A brand new security characteristic has been launched in India by Fb, with the assistance of which customers can lock their profiles. After doing this, solely their pals will see the photographs or posts shared on their behalf. The remainder of the customers will see their profile however no publish might be seen. This characteristic may be of nice use for these customers who don’t need to share extra particulars on social media and need to share their posts with just a few individuals.
All Indian customers on the social media community will begin receiving this characteristic from subsequent week. Fb product supervisor Roxena Irani mentioned the characteristic profile was introduced after the image guard was profitable and acquired suggestions from customers. Irani mentioned, ‘We first began with the profile as a result of a lot of the girls customers had been nervous that their photographs may be downloaded and shared. This was the rationale that the primary profile image guard characteristic was launched by Fb.
Learn: Fb wished to ‘spy’ on you
Will lock profile
Fb mentioned that aside from the profile picture of the customers, the necessity to defend different posts and photographs was additionally felt. That is the rationale why the corporate has introduced a brand new profile lock choice, understanding the suggestions from the customers. As soon as the profile lock is enabled, public customers will solely see the profile picture and won’t have the choice to view the remaining particulars. A blue badge will present that the profile is locked and different particulars and posts might be viewable solely after becoming a member of the consumer’s good friend checklist.
Choice might be discovered right here
The brand new characteristic may be accessed by going to ‘extra choices’ within the profile. On tapping ‘extra choices’ within the profile, customers will see the Lock Profile, the place the profile may be locked by tapping. Whereas doing this, Fb will clearly inform the customers what’s the which means of locking profiles and after that the small print won’t be seen to the general public customers. As soon as this characteristic is activated, the consumer will be unable to publish any public and a pop-up will point out that their profile is locked.
Learn: Cellphone’s storage will enhance as quickly as SIM card is put in
Tag may be completed
Likewise, it is possible for you to to tag different tags when the profile is locked, however solely when the profile is locked, the picture will seem on their timeline, after they enable. Fb India’s public coverage director Ankhi Das mentioned that the social community has launched a brand new characteristic by deciding that customers get full details about it. Additionally, with the assistance of this, customers can hold their information and privateness protected and also can defend themselves.