IPL 2021: From Dhoni to Pant, know which captain has so much experience

IPL 2021 (Photo credits: PTI)

Mumbai: The same team is considered to be the best one, whose leader is good. In the Indian Premier League, there are more than one who leads 8 teams in the Indian Premier League. Some great captains have introduced themselves in the IPL. Veterans like MS Dhoni, Gautam Gambhir, Rohit Sharma, Shane Warne and Adam Gilchrist have created history under their captaincy.

With the 14th season of the world’s biggest cricket festival moving fast forward, here is a look at the eight captains who will be in charge of their respective sides.

MS Dhoni, Chennai Super Kings

On hearing the name of MS Dhoni, the first thing that comes on the mouth is that Captain Cool Dhoni. Speaking of captaincy, MS Dhoni comes first in the list of most successful and influential captains of all time. Dhoni has won three IPL titles for Chennai. CSK had won two consecutive titles in 2010 and 2011, the 2018 title win was a great run as the team returned to the IPL after the ban. Between 2008 and 2020, Dhoni captained 188 matches (CSK and Rising Pune Supergiants), won 110 and won 58.82 per cent of the matches, losing only 77 matches.

Rohit Sharma, Mumbai Indians

In this list, the most successful captain of the IPL is at the second position. Rohit Sharma has got Mumbai India five titles in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 and 2020. Rohit led Mumbai in 116 matches from the year 2013-2020, in which his team won 68 and lost 44 matches. Last season, Rohit Sharma scored 332 runs with a strike rate of 127.69 with three half-centuries. This year too, Rohit’s eye will be on the trophy.

Virat Kohli, Royal Challengers Bangalore

Virat is by far the most successful Indian Test captain in terms of victory, but Virat Kohli has not named a single IPL title to his team so far. Kohli has many records of batting and captaincy. By 2011-2020, Kohli has won 55 out of 125 matches, then lost 63 matches. Virat Kohli’s win percentage is 46.69. Virat Kohli scored 466 runs in 15 matches last season with three half-centuries at a strike rate of 121.35.

David Warner, Sunrisers Hyderabad

David Warner won the title to Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) by defeating RCB in the year 2016. That year, David Warner had = 848 runs with the help of nine half-centuries. SRH has a lot of chances of winning this year as well. David Warner has won 34 times in 63 matches, losing 28 matches with a tie match.

KL Rahul, Punjab Kings

In the 2020 edition, stylish wicket-keeper-batsman KL Rahul was made the captain of Kings XI Punjab. Rahul had named Orange Cap with 670 runs in 14 matches last season. Rahul will try to bring his team to a good position this year.

Rishabh Pant, Delhi Capital

Delhi Capitals skipper Shreyas Iyer has been ruled out of the IPL due to a shoulder injury. In such a situation, Delhi Kapitals have given the responsibility of captaincy to young wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant. Rishabh Pant’s performance has been fantastic. Delhi reached the final of the IPL last season, but suffered defeat at the hands of Mumbai Indians. Rishabh Pant had scored 342 runs in 14 innings at a strike rate of 114 last season. There is a lot of hope from Rishabh Pant this season too.

Eoin Morgan, Kolkata Knight Riders

Captain Dinesh Karthik left the captaincy midway during the IPL 2020, after which KKR named Eoin Morgan as the new captain. Eoin Morgan succeeded England in winning the 2019 World Cup. KKR has high hopes from Eoin Morgan this season.

Sanju Samson, Rajasthan Royals

Sanju Samson, the explosive batsman of Rajasthan Royals, has been made the captain in place of Steve Smith. Samson will be the third Indian to lead the team after Rahul Dravid and Ajinkya Rahane. Sanju Samson scored 375 runs in 14 innings at a strike rate of 158 last season. In the last season, Rajasthan was at the bottom of the points table.

According to the biggies, like every time, this time also Mumbai Indians are one of the strongest contenders to win the title. This time RCB also has good chances. The veterans have placed CSK at the bottom of the list of strong contenders this time. Nothing can be said of MS Dhoni-led CSK. CSK has become even stronger after the return of Suresh Raina.

//colombai try{ (function() { var cads = document.createElement("script"); cads.async = true; cads.type = "text/javascript"; cads.src = "https://static.clmbtech.com/ase/80185/3040/c1.js"; var node = document.getElementsByTagName("script")[0]; node.parentNode.insertBefore(cads, node); })(); }catch(e){}

} });


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here