Home Sports France-Switzerland: Sommer’s stop on Mbappé’s shot on goal was valid

France-Switzerland: Sommer’s stop on Mbappé’s shot on goal was valid

0
France-Switzerland: Sommer’s stop on Mbappé’s shot on goal was valid

Video assistance verified the dive of Swiss goalkeeper Yann Sommer on Kylian Mbappé’s shot on goal. The goalkeeper’s stoppage – although regulatory – sent Switzerland to the quarter-finals of Euro 2021 and the French at home.

Despite 120 unbreathable minutes and the feat he had just accomplished, Yann Sommer retained great lucidity before exulting with joy on Monday. The Swiss goalkeeper was suspended for a few seconds on the decision of the Argentine referee, Fernando Andres Rapallini, after stopping the shot on goal of Kylian Mbappé, the last of the session of the incredible round of 16 of the Euro entered the France and Switzerland (3-3, 4 tab 5).

Advertisement
Yann Sommer's left foot hits the goal line when Kylian Mbappé strikes
Yann Sommer’s left foot hits the goal line when Kylian Mbappé strikes © Capture TF1

>> Follow all the Euro news LIVE

Yann Sommer on his line against Kylian Mbappé
Yann Sommer on his line against Kylian Mbappé © Capture TF1

He finally received confirmation that his save was valid and sent the Nati in the quarterfinals against Spain on Friday (6 p.m.). He then exploded with joy with his partners, authors of a resounding feat.

Advertisement
Yann Sommer waits for the referee's decision before exulting
Yann Sommer waits for the referee’s decision before exulting © Capture TF1
The assistant referee tells Swiss players that Yann Sommer's judgment is being checked
The assistant referee tells Swiss players that Yann Sommer’s judgment is being checked © Capture TF1

His save was checked for a few moments by the video assistance to determine if he had at least one foot touching the goal line when the French striker struck. If he had advanced his right leg, the left touched the chalk well when Mbappé unleashed his cross shot on the right of Borussia goalkeeper Mönchengladbach.

A law in force since 2019

Since June 1, 2019, the IFAB, which governs the laws of the game, requires goalkeepers to touch the goal line with at least one foot at the time of the strike. The rule had been applied for the first time at the Women’s World Cup in 2019 and had caused several penalties to be withdrawn, sometimes for a few centimeters.

Advertisement
Hugo Lloris' save on Ricardo Rodriguez's penalty was also valid
Hugo Lloris’ save on Ricardo Rodriguez’s penalty was also valid © Capture TF1

On Monday, Sommer respected it perfectly, as did Hugo Lloris during his stop on Cristian Rodriguez’s attempt in the second period.

Advertisement

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here