Vieira, Drogba, Aguero… Eight Premier League Stars Inducted into Hall of Fame

The Premier League this Thursday unveiled eight former Championship players who are entering the Hall of Fame, which debuted last year. Didier Drogba and Sergio Aguero join Patrick Vieira and Wayne Rooney there, which was announced a few weeks ago.

The Premier League Hall of Fame is still in its infancy and is slowly being built up. A year after its launch and the inclusion of eight players including Henry, Cantona, Beckham, Gerard or Lampard, the English Championship on Thursday announced those entering 2022.

They are the new eight players inducted, selected by a panel of experts put together by the public and by the Premier League. They are all retired, a necessary criterion for claiming the Hall of Fame. You must have played at least 250 games in the league, or be able to show a remarkable performance such as scored 100 goals, finished top scorer or best player, won three titles, etc.

So the 2022 vintage is led by Patrick Vieira and Wayne Rooney, whose appearances were revealed only a few weeks ago. The first, after playing for Arsenal (1996–05) and Manchester City (2010–11), is now at the helm of Crystal Palace. The second, passed by Everton (2002–04 then 2017-18) and Manchester United (2004–17), now lead Derby County in the second division.

Aguero, has just retired and already exists

But these two are accompanied by six other players: Didier Drogba (Chelsea), Sergio Aguero (Manchester City), Ian Wright (Arsenal, West Ham), Vincent Kompany (Manchester City), Peter Schmeichel (Manchester United, Aston Villa, Manchester City) ) ) and Paul Scholes (Manchester United).

Manchester United is already the most represented club in this Hall of Fame with six players (Rooney, Schmeichel, Scholes, Beckham, Cantona, Keane). Behind, we find Arsenal with four players (Vieira, Wright, Henry, Bergkamp) and Manchester City with five, even though three of them had their best year under the other colors (Aguero, Compagnie, Vieira, Schmeichel, Lampard). Have spent

Hall of Fame members inducted in 2021: Thierry Henry (Arsenal), Eric Cantona (Leeds, Manchester United), Alan Shearer (Blackburn, Newcastle), David Beckham (Manchester United), Dennis Bergkamp (Arsenal), Frank Lampard (West Ham, Chelsea, Manchester City), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool) and Roy Keane (Nottingham Forest, Manchester United)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.