The Bayern-PSG referee refrained from whistling three Parisian hands in the area and a possible penalty in favor of Neymar on Wednesday. Rightly so according to the laws of the game, especially on the hands.
It wasn’t a scandalous night. The intensity of the match, its dramaturgy (injuries, snow …) and the scenario relegated to the background of possible complaints at the end of this superb Bayern-PSG (2-3). Often theatrical and tactile with the players, the Spanish referee Antonio Mateu Lahoz helped to make the debates fluid by alternating authority and pedagogy.
>> Subscribe to RMC Sport offers to watch the Champions League quarter-finals
However, several decisions could have given rise to challenge. He put an end to it quite quickly and no actor openly complained about his choices at the end of the meeting. This may be due to the absence of some complainers like Marco Verratti, affected by the Covid, or Leandro Paredes, suspended. But this is mainly due to his approach turned more towards the spirit of the game than the letter. Even if, in fact, the Spaniard respected a rule sometimes subject to several interpretations.
>> Bayern-PSG, the day after live
Three hands in the non-sanctionable area
Some PSG players may be saying to themselves this Thursday that things have changed. Four years after the traumatic elimination against Manchester United after a hand from Presnel Kimpembe from behind, they left Munich with a victory. Without having conceded a penalty. Three situations, however, sent some shivers through the ranks of PSG. The first came in the 13th minute of play when a Marquinhos block bounced off Danilo’s right hand in his box. Bayern players claimed the penalty to no avail.
In the second half, Presnel Kimpembe, in turn, touched the ball with his right hand after bouncing off Alphonso Davies. Again no whistle. Finally, Mauricio Pochettino’s men got a last scare in the 89th minute. After an overflow from Thomas Müller, Ander Herrera countered the German’s cross with a tackle before the ball hit his arm. Led 2-3, the Bavarians have this time ardently claimed a penalty. But Mr. Mateu Lahoz did not give in to opposing challenges. Again with good reason. On these three actions, the laws of the game of the IFAB give reason to the man in black.
Law 12 of the IFAB confirms it: “There is no fault if the ball touches the arm or the hand of a player: directly from his head, his trunk or his leg; directly from the head, the trunk or the leg of another nearby player (which is the case with the actions of Danilo and Kimpembe, editor’s note); if the arm or hand is close to the body and does not artificially increase its surface; if a player falls and their arm or hand is positioned between their body and the ground to cushion the fall (not sideways or vertically). ” This last point applies to Herrera’s hand.
A forgotten penalty on Neymar?
Another action – in favor of the Parisians this time – is subject to discussion. Launched in a long raid towards the opposing goal (31st), Neymar was caught by Lucas Hernandez. The slow motion shows that the French defender taps the Brazilian’s right foot, which falls to the ground. The referee didn’t flinch. And if he complained about this blow received, Neymar did not complain outrageously about this decision. An action which again seems to have been well decided by the Spanish shelter.