HomeSports3 posts, 4 candidates: These 4 legendary players in the race to...

3 posts, 4 candidates: These 4 legendary players in the race to become the selectors of Team India

Arani Basu, New Delhi
The last date of application for 3 members of the selection team of Indian Senior Men’s International Team is today i.e. on Sunday. So far former Indian fast bowlers Ajit Agarkar (Ajit Agarkar) and Chetan Sharma (Chetan Sharma) apart from former left-arm spinner Maninder Singh and opener Shiv Sundar Das (SS Das) have applied for it. They are strong candidates for all four selectors.

In this regard, Maninder Singh said, ‘I have applied at the last minute. No talks have been done by the BCCI. The three selectors who have completed their tenure are Devang Gandhi (East Zone), Sarandeep Singh (North Zone) and Jatin Paranjpe (West Zone). The BCCI has officially scrapped the regional policy but there has been a tradition that a person from the same region takes the place of a person from his area. Recently, MSK Prasad was replaced by Sunil Joshi (South Zone) who was the chairman of the previous selection committee.

It is noteworthy that the minimum eligibility for the post is 30 first-class matches, while the maximum age limit of 60 years has been fixed. The deadline for sending applications is Sunday 15 November. There is no doubt that applicants with international experience (a combination of seven Tests or 10-day internationals and 20 first-class matches) will be preferred.

Similarly, in February this year, Harvinder Singh of Railways was selected as selector from the Central Region, replacing Gagan Khoda of Rajasthan. It is expected that the applications of the previous phase applicants will be valid including Ajit Agarkar of Mumbai and Maninder Singh of Delhi. The chairman of the senior national selection committee will be the one who has the most experience of playing international matches and the Cricket Advisory Committee headed by Madan Lal selects someone with more than 15 Tests and 69 ODIs (Joshi’s international experience). So he will be the chief selector.

The other members of the Cricket Advisory Committee are RP Singh and Sulakshana Naik. Apart from the Indian team, the senior selection committee selects India A, Duleep Trophy, Deodhar Trophy, Challenger Trophy and Rest of India (Irani Cup) team. The main responsibility of the selectors is to select the best possible team in a fair and transparent manner, besides creating a strong bench strength for the national team.


Must Read
Related News