19 January: India-Australia cricket connection is old, Team India never lost

new Delhi
The Indian team registered a resounding victory over Australia in 2021 on 19 January. India defeated Australia by 3 wickets under Ajinkya Rahane’s captaincy in the fourth Test match of the series played at the Gabba Stadium in Brisbane. With this victory, they named the series 2–1 and once again captured the Border Gavaskar Trophy.

The day of January 19 is very special in the history of cricket in India and Australia, although the victory has been won by Team India only. Let’s look at some such matches when India won on January 19 and that too against a strong team like Australia ..

Read, Australia was invincible on Gaba for 32 years, India stopped the victory chariot, know when and how it broke

19 January 2021
The Indian team performed brilliantly, winning the fourth Test match at Brisbane’s Gaba by 3 wickets on Tuesday (19 January 2021) on the last day. Australia won the toss and scored 369 runs in the first innings after which India were all out for 336 runs in their first innings. Mohammad Siraj and Shardul Thakur finished Australia’s second innings for 294 runs, giving Team India a target of 328 runs to win. India achieved the target with the help of strong innings of Shubman Gill (91), wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant (89 *) and Cheteshwar Pujara (56) and also hoisted the tricolor at Brisbane. Australia’s Pacer Pat Cummins took 4 wickets in the second innings. With this victory, she also retained the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

READ  MS Dhoni vs Virat Kohli: Dhoni is the most productive captain and Virat best possible batsman within the eyes of Shikhar Dhawan.

19 January 2008
On the same day in 2008, India defeated Australia in the same host. Team India was led by Anil Kumble and it was the third Test match of the same series, when Harbhajan Singh faced severe criticism due to the ‘Monkeygate’. In this Test match which ended on 19 January, the Indian team won by 72 runs in Perth. India scored 330 runs in their first innings and held Australia to 212 runs. India then scored 294 runs in their second innings and set a target of 413 runs in front of the hosts. The Australian team was reduced to 340 runs. It was India’s only win in that series. Man of the match was Irfan Pathan who took a total of 5 wickets and also scored 46 runs in India’s second innings.

19 January 2020
In the year 2020, under the captaincy of Virat Kohli, India defeated Australia by 7 wickets in the third ODI in Bangalore and won the 3-match series 2-1. Australia scored 286 for 9 wickets. Then thanks to Rohit Sharma’s (119) century and Virat Kohli (89 )’s strong innings, India lost the target in 47.3 overs by losing 3 wickets. With this win, India also won the series 2–1.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here